152MC: Building Up An Idea

So as you can tell by my last post, I am pretty much in love with Crewdson’s work, the narrative he creates through a production that takes place like a movie set is captivating.

But theres a problem, as I’ve just said Gregory Crewdson creates his masterpieces through a huge production that resembles the steps taken to film a movie. I am a 1st year 18 year old student with a student loan. I can’t do this. So as a quick test to see if I could cheat with Photoshop lighting, I forced my flatmate to accompany me on the most terrifying walk in Coventry at night (we only went round the corner of our flats) so I could practise working with street lights and nighttime photography, as many of Crewdson’s photographs are dimly lit and dark for mysterious atmospheric purposes.

This is the result:

The left hand image is the original, taken with a slow shutter speed of 30 seconds and F/13 so as to capture detail and create a cool lighting effect. I put my flatmate in the image to not only show a sense of scale but also see how the shutter speed and lighting impacts the quality of the portrait. The right hand one is a play around with the lighting effects in Photoshop to remind myself of the kind of output it creates. I am not convinced that this option is the best, it feels too obviously fake.

IMG_3048 (Original) IMG_3048

However the quick photoshoot was not a waste of time, I feel more determined than ever to find a solution and locate a transportable lighting kit that will give me some control over the lighting, whilst still allowing myself to be free and venture out. I will continue to address this by searching for products such as those advertised by Elinchrom. If all fails, my backup plan is to resort to indoor studio photography instead.

In the meantime, I have looked up other photographers both contemporary and modern to influence myself, perhaps alter the intensions of the project. i’ve been looking at

  • Diane Arbus
  • Nan Goldin
  • Annie Leibovitz
  • Cindy Sherman
  • Erwin Olaf

I’ve even taken to researching stills from favourite movies (Moonrise Kingdom) and quotes from popular novels (The Great Gatsby).

“The loneliest moment in someone’s life is when they are watching their whole world fall apart, and all they can do is stare blankly.”
― F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

