152MC: Other Ideas

Other ideas I could explore for this module, whilst still exploring narrative Photography, is the idea of expressing personal issues through Photography. I could either study the fact I suffer with Dermatophagia, an impulse and obsessive compulsive disorder where I chew the skin from my fingers when in a state of anxiety, boredom or apprehension. Below are two pictures I took a year ago, when my disorder was probably at it’s worst. IMG_0360 IMG_0362 The thought behind this idea is to combine it with the idea of monitoring behaviour when the impulsive strikes, creating a photographic and possible physical diary as the final piece. This idea is partly inspired by Bronte Cordes in 2nd year who’s Picbod piece was a photographical and literal recording of the changes during menstruation. I similar concept is the idea of documenting my medical journey as I come to terms with being diagnosed with Primary Hypertension (aka High Blood Pressure due to unknown reasons). It would be interesting to, like the Dermatophagia, create a photographical and literal diary as I come to terms with hospital appointments, blood tests and medication I will take for the rest of my life. Photographers that could be interesting to look at are:

  • Ariana Page Russell
  • Stephen Gill – Coexistance
  • Kipton Kumler- Plant Leaves

Ariana Page Russel is a photographer that documents her own skin condition, Dermatographia which is a condition where the skin is sensitive to touch and any touch can create a patter so you effectively draw on the skin, as she shows in her images. As Russell’s website explains the concept better than me:

“Ariana Page Russell creates images that explore the skin as a document of human experience, using her own hypersensitive flesh to illustrate the ways we expose, express, adorn and articulate ourselves”

In her series ‘Skin’, Russell documents the many patterns created on her skin by everyday life as shown below in a screenshot from her website. Screen Shot 2015-03-17 at 17.20.46 1 Kardinal, S. and Russell, A. (2005) Ariana Page Russell /skinAriana Page Russel. Available at: http://www.arianapagerussell.com/work/skin/ (Accessed: 17 March 2015).

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

