152MC: Todd Hido Research

Here in this blog post I would like to explain further research into Todd Hido. To aid my research on Hido, I discovered a helpful book in the library titled ‘ Todd Hido: On Landscapes, Interiors, and the Nude’ which is written by Hido himself (With an Introduction from Gregory Halpern). In this book I have found many useful points and quotes to guide me through his thoughts and ideas. I have also found out about his other types of works, such as images taken from car windows that have been a pleasant find for me.

“There has to be something that pulls me in” “All the memories and experiences from my past come together subconsciously and form a kind of fragmented narrative”

In these quotes, Hido is discussing what draws him to take the pictures he took, influenced by his childhood of growing up in Suburban American Ohio settings and how he uses this to form a basis of his work. I would like to slightly alter this contextual background for my work because obviously I do not live in America and so haven’t been particularly influenced by the American way of life, although I’ve been influenced by my British village/town upbringing and will instead bring this into my work by exploring more Hertfordshire-village/ Coventry-Town areas.

He introduces the type of narrative in the 2nd quote and later enhances this with further insight into the deeper story of the images:

“The way people present themselves to the work says a lot about whats happening inside their home- for instance, whether their grass is cut or not. I can recognise the chaos in their curtains” 

And I just find that so beautiful because of the attention to detail that then provides a link to a possible narrative. It appeals to the Psychologist in me as it suggests that we actually present our personalities and identification without actually being present in the image, but rather we project our identity all around us. This was inclusion of the ‘family objective’ in Hido’s work was influenced by Photography Larry Sultan. In this book, Todd Hido describes seeing Sultans work featured in a MOMA show called ‘The Pleasures and Terrors of Domestic Comfort’ and shows an obvious admiration for the exploration of self in his work.

“I really liked how he used the home as a set for small family dramas, those that reveal larger and more complex longings, complications, insecurities, intimacy and alienation.”

All this research has been significant and insightful, influencing me to draw inspiration from within my past in order to make the vital progression to the future of my project.

References

  • Hido, T. and Halpern, G. (2014) Todd Hido on Landscapes, Interiors, and the Nude. 1st edn. United States: Apertur
Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

