152MC: Scanning and Photoshopping

THE SCANNER ACTUALLY WORKED! (With help from the wonderful Jon)

I was finally able to scan and view my first set of film images, I was pleasantly surprised at how they came out in the scanner and now have a strong sense of positivity towards the future of this project.

I decided to scan in my favourite images and edit them through Photoshop, using tools such as Highlights/Shadows, Auto Tone and Colour Balance to bring a little detail out in the photos and rid any too strong colour or adjust it to a more natural colour. Below are comparisons of the original scanned image and the edit. The edits below are originals (right) and edited (left)

ContactSheet-001

The hardest to edit was the Church image, when it scanned in a blue tint appeared and required numerous fiddling with colour, contrast and highlights/shadows to correct and even then I need further reassurance on the image itself. (original right, edited left)

ContactSheet-002

I think Photoshop editing might be the way forward, I just have to convince myself to take a step away from following Todd Hido’s work too closely. I also need to think about consistency when editing my photos as it could effect the outcome of the appearance of my book.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

