152MC: Email Exchange with Polly Tootal

So I emailed British Photographer Polly Tootal, in the hope I would get a reply (It’s very hard to get a reply from a practising Photographer) and I did get a reply, of which I am very grateful for. In my email, I asked Tootal 2 questions I felt would appease my curiosity, ensure I understood the context of her work as well as help me in forming an artists’ statement.

Below is my original email and Tootal’s reply.

Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 13.03.48Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 13.03.27

The reply email indicates a few helpful points that I can take away for this module and for the future:

  • That we both definitely love Todd Hido.
  • Her landscapes are influenced by the British landscape and her childhood upbringing.
  • She creates a narrative and/or creates an emotional response.
  • She looks at the subtleties and what these might say to the audience.
Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

