152MC: Book Binding Practise

Before I start this post, I just want to point out the obvious; I am awful at binding, I am awful at crafts. I could loose to a small child at craft. But since I had little choice but to go along with the binding element of the module as best as I could. Needless to say, I didn’t overly enjoy the learning to bind but can’t deny the realisation of eventually getting it right was rewarding.

My choice of basic Japanese Stab Binding is, well basic I know. But the practise was still needed. I decided to first get the technique right and learn how to remember important elements such as tightening the thread or pulling the thread through enough.

Below is the first attempt.

Photo 22-05-2015 1 02 01 pm

Second Attempt.

Photo 22-05-2015 1 00 22 pm

Third Attempt

Photo 22-05-2015 1 02 12 pm

Fourth Attempt- (Using some practise blue thread and created a quick cut-out window)

Photo 22-05-2015 1 43 33 pm

Photo 22-05-2015 1 43 19 pm

Fifth (And Final) Attempt

Photo 22-05-2015 3 38 38 pm

Photo 22-05-2015 3 38 47 pm

Photo 22-05-2015 3 39 03 pm

I haven’t yet fully decided whether to include the window idea in the final book, it’s difficult to achieve without currently having the right equipment. For the last few binding practises, I used an easy tutorial to guide me (Bookbinding Fundamentals) until I was confident enough to no longer need it.

References:

Munoz, E. (2013) Bookbinding Fundamentals: Basic Stab Binding – Tuts+ Crafts & DIY Tutorial [online] available from <http://crafts.tutsplus.com/tutorials/bookbinding-fundamentals-basic-stab-binding–craft-10250&gt; [17 May 2015]

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

