#Phonar: Task One

I am so excited to be starting a new chapter in my 2nd year at Coventry University, we’re finally taking part in Phonar. I’ve been waiting for this module all year and now it’s finally here.

During the holidays we have been tasked with an individual page of The Photographer Playbook. Mine was that of Sarah Palmer’s contribution to the book.

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 17.32.12 copy

©Aperture

I managed to make a slight deviation at the first of this task and visited an Antique shop called ‘Clare Antiques & Interiors’ instead of going to a flea market, but the purpose remains the same. To me it was the adult version of being a kid in a candy store, I was in my element.

I bought two objects that stuck out to me, which was a glass box and a teacup plant pot containing fake plants. So you’re probably wondering why I chose these two objects? Well, as the task states I had to look for the objects that spoke to me or that grabbed me. I have always had an obsession with boxes for things like trinkets and jewellery. Typically I tend to invest my interest more in traditional tin or wooden boxes however on this occasion I was drawn to this clear glass box.

The other object I was drawn to was a fake plastic plant within a teacup-style plant pot. This I was drawn to because it stood out from the scene of materialistic object around it as the only nature based object. I also have an interest in fake plants because even I can’t kill them.

 

In my next blog post, I will present my research on Sarah Palmer and how I will be using these objects in my task.

 

References:

Fulford, J. and Halpern, G. (2014) The photographer’s Playbook: 307 assignments and ideas. United States: Aperture.
Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

