#Phonar: Task One- Final piece

After my Sarah Palmer research, I experimented more than I ever have before.

To summarise my task from the Photographers Playbook, I have to:

  1. Buy an object from a market
  2. study it
  3. make a series of 5 images that relate to the object
  4. if I get a creative block, photograph the object until I emerge from that block.

I didn’t exactly stick to the task as closely as I was supposed to (which i will go into further detail in my Critical Rationale) and ended up buying two objects that I studied closely. After experiments with my fake plant object only providing a short amount inspiration, as shown in a previous blog post, I turned to the second object which is a glass trinket box. I imagine when most people are confronted by the adult candy store of an antique shop like I was, they’d go straight for all things old and shiny (Granted I did stare intently at some expensive diamond rings for the first 10 minutes) but this box caught my eye about halfway through my venture.

 

I have always had a fascination with boxes and related objects, from my grandfathers old coin tin tin to my Nans old jewellery boxes. Two people in the world I miss the most. That is the beauty of boxes, to me they are the holders of mysteries, of hopes and of documentation. So I set out to show this, as the task asks me to either respond or reject my object.

Trying to come up with a style for the final 5 images has been a challenge, at first I felt I should be creating these images in Palmer’s style but then I went back to the task like I often do when I’m stuck and realised that this is Palmer asking me as a reader to create my own, I shouldn’t be relying on hers.  But I still wanted to show my gratitude towards her creation of this task and what researching art photography has taught me, so as shown below I started arguing back and forth to myself how I might create my final piece. I did lots of experimentation and editing, until I was mildly satisfied with myself

Scan

In the end I cheated a little bit and produced 6 images instead of 5. To show what I have learnt from Palmer, I have adopted the approach of turning the photograph into a sculpture. I printed the image and laid it flat on a table and placed an object on top. These objects represent why I have a deep obsession with the mysteries of boxes, the inversion is to help show this reasoning.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This is not originally how I envisioned my results and I’m not entirely sure I’m satisfied, its one of those projects I could do over and over again, only then can I be sure I’ve exhausted all ideas. But Gemma told us to have fun with our task and once I reached the stage of getting a slight headache, I knew I was taking it too seriously and just decided to produce what I felt I wanted to and that is what I did. To conclude, I feel quite good about myself.

I look forward to returning to university soon and seeing how everyone else has responded to their tasks.

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

