SlippersGeek: Hello Frankie!

Hi guys,

You may be wondering what this blog post is about and why it has such a silly name. Firstly, this blog post (and hopefully more to come) is about the time I take, as often as I can, to sit down in my slippers and read up on the wise words of others. The reason my slippers are important is because its a motif that connects these moments together, either that or I just wear my slippers too much.
Whats important here is that I enjoy taking the time to receive readings of learning or positivity that I feel obliged to pass on to others, whatever material it was taken from.
This is a chance for me to document and record my various findings as a sort of archive, but it is also a chance to connect with other enthusiasts whether they be professional or amateur.
So without much further ado i’d like to rave about my latest discovery of Frankie, an Aussie magazine that boasts coverage of all things creative; Design, Art, Photography, Fashion, Travel, Music, Craft, Home and Life which is a lot to cover! I have come across Frankie before in my leisurely trips up and down the magazine aisle of WHSmith but I usually have one purchase in mind, that being The British Journal of Photography. The issue I have acquired is no.71 so it’s apparent that Frankie is no longer in its infancy stages but has not quite graduated from High School. Still it manages to boast pages pages on conspiracies, interviews and personal columns. My personal favourite find was ‘I love Marok & Roll’ by photographer Paul Shiakallis (officially titled Leathered Skins, Unchained Hearts ) in which Paul has documented a “subculture made up predominantly of black setswana-speaking heavy metal fans”. The tick in the boxes for me is the style of photography, its rich in social documentary and has the subject appearance of posing yet natural, this allows the viewers to stand back in amazement at such a niche group of people yet their physical queues of seemingly positive body language makes us happy for them, that they have found their place in life. I just idolise projects like these because of their simplicity, no fancy camera tricks or special effects are needed because the images speak for themselves and are definitely worth a look in the magazine or on Paul Shiakallis’ website.
©Frankie
If you are not swayed into looking at the photography and are searching for some inspiration or positivity then Frankie is not short of that either, from Mia Timpano’s personal article on accepting facial hair, Caro Cooper on understanding conspiracy theorists like herself to the many beautiful features of personal objects and their purposes in Museum of Me.
Yes Frankie has it all, too many aspects to mention. If I have any criticism, it mainly lies in the online website as opposed to the physical object itself. The site is advertised as a fashion magazine which is percularliar as I would be inclined to advertise it as a multi-creative platform. The site also states it is “advertised to women (and men)” Why the “(and men)” in brackets? Either you include them together as equals or you take out the male part altogether and promote it as a female magazine, which a man has the option to browse if he wishes such as the likes of Good Housekeeping or OK magazine. That is my only gripe.
Basically, go out and buy this magazine as it has enough topics to find something you love as well as something new you might grow in interest to. Don’t forget to put on your slippers.
I apologise for my writing and any grammatical errors I may have made, hopefully I will improve with time as I spur myself on to carry on with these posts.
Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

